European University Alliances 2022: 22 UNICA members in 10 alliances set to continue receiving support from Erasmus+

27 July 2022 | From UNICA - European Universities

European University Alliances 2022: 22 UNICA members in 10 alliances set to continue receiving support from Erasmus+

The European Commission has announced the results of the 2022 call for the European Universities initiative, revealing that a total of 20 European Universities were selected for financing. 16 of those are existing European Universities that will continue to receive support, out of which 10 include at least one UNICA member university. The other 4 European Universities selected in this call are completely new alliances.

These numbers mean that UNICA is represented in over 60% of the existing alliances that will receive further funding and in 50% of the overall selected alliances in this call.  The 10 European Universities in which UNICA is represented include a total of 22 UNICA member universities, with CIVIS 2 leading with six UNICA universities among its partners.

A total of 44 European Universities now involve 340 higher education institutions in capital cities and remote regions of 31 countries, including all EU Member States and Iceland, Norway, Serbia, and Turkey. The selected alliances in the 2022 call will be entitled to a record budget of €272 million from Erasmus+.

A novelty under the 2022 Erasmus+ call is that the alliances can now accept associated partners from Bologna Process countries, including for example from Ukraine, the United Kingdom and Switzerland.

Check the complete list of European University Alliances selected for funding which include UNICA universities:

Alliance’s AcronymAlliance’s NameUNICA members in the Alliance & Country
1CORE (former 4EU+)One Comprehensive Research-Intensive European UniversityCharles University (Czech Republic)
University of Copenhagen(Denmark)
University of Warsaw (Poland)
ARQUS IIArqus European UniversityUniversity of Vilnius (Lithuania)
CHARMEIGHT ∞Challenge-Driven, Accessible, Research based and Mobile European UniversityEötvös Lorand University (Hungary)
CIVIS 2CIVIS – a European Civic UniversityAutonomous University of Madrid (Spain)
Universite libre de Bruxelles – ULB (Belgium)
National and Kapodistrian University of Athens (Greece)
Sapienza University of Rome (Italy)
University of Bucarest (Romania)
University of Stockholm (Sweden)
EPICURSHAPE-ITEuropean Partnership for an Innovative Campus Unifying RegionsUniversity of Amsterdam (The Netherlands)
EUGLOH 2.0European University Alliance for Global HealthUniversity of Alcalá (ES)
EUTOPIA MOREEuropean Universities Transforming to an Open Inclusive AcademyFree University of Brussels – VUB (Belgium)
NOVA University Lisbon (Portugal)
University of Ljubljana (Slovenia)
FORTHEM Fostering Outreach within European Regions, Transnational Higher Education and MobilityUniversity of Latvia (Latvia)
UNA. UniversitasUna EuropaComplutense University Madrid (Spain)
Free University of Berlin (Germany)
University of Helsinki (Finland)
YUFE 2030Young Universities for the Future of Europe AllianceUniversity Carlos III of Madrid (Spain)
University of Cyprus (Cyprus)

Discover more about European Universities:

Photo: European Commission

Subscribe to our newsletter

I agree to the Privacy Policy *