UNICA Network welcomes a new member

During the 25th General Assembly 2015 in Brussels, UNICA Members approved the membership candidacy of the Higher School of Economics. 


The Higher School of Economics was founded in 1992 in Moscow, Russia and received the status of a National Research University in 2009. The University specializes in Economics, Social Sciences, Humanities, and Computer Science. It has 10 faculties, with its main campus located in Moscow and three additional campuses in St. Petersburg, Nizhniy Novgorod and Perm.


The University cooperates with more than 300 foreign universities and research organizations, and offers more than 40 double-degree programmes with leading foreign universities, such as London School of Economics, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, and University of Bologna.


Through the HSE Internationalisation Programme, a multi-faceted, long-term initiative launched in 2010, the Higher School of Economics seeks to integrate all aspects of university to make it accessible to foreign students and scholars and to transform HSE into Russia's first global university.


The HSE was the first Russian institution to introduce the 4 + 2 system and strongly supported Russian participation in the Bologna Process. The University was also one of the first Russian HE establishments to introduce a system of academic credits. Each successful year of study at the University represents 60 credits, in line with the international Education Credit Transfer System (ECTS).


The Higher School of Economics is already a member of several international networks and associations including the European University Association (EUA), EUA Council of Doctoral Education (EUA-CDE), and European Foundation for Management Development (EFMD).