University of Luxembourg: welcome to the Network!

Following the vote of the UNICA General Assembly 2012, University of Cyprus, 26 October, the University of Luxembourg has become the 44th member university of the UNICA Network.

The University of Luxembourg (Université de Luxembourg) was founded in 2003 as the first and only university of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. The University of Luxembourg is multilingual, international and strongly focused on research. 

The University of Luxembourg offers 11 bachelor’s degrees, 28 master’s degrees and PhD studies in 19 areas of research. The University also offers lifelong learning/continuing education programmes and shorter courses.

In 2011, 5700 students from 100 different countries were enrolled at the University. Of these, 53 % came from outside Luxembourg. 380 PhD students were enrolled in the University’s doctoral programmes. The academic staff comprises about 190 professors, assistant professors and lecturers, assisted by 650 professional experts from 25 different countries.

The University participates in more than 60 research projects funded by the European Union, under a wide range of programmes (including FP7, LLP, INTERREG, ESF, ESPON, OLAF, ESA, FP7/IMI, ESF/COST, EIB, EIFDG Justice, DG Health).

Multilingualism is a key element in the strategic development of the University. It provides the University with the unique asset of being able to offer a bilingual diploma, and is a central element in building the international reputation of the university.

Student mobility is also strongly promoted. One semester abroad is compulsory for all bachelor students and exchange opportunities are also offered for master and PhD students. PhD students are also offered the possibility of joint thesis supervision with a foreign university. The university has more than 60 bilateral agreements worldwide, and Erasmus agreements with around 170 institutions. Some of these agreements also involve exchange of academic staff or common research projects.

The University of Luxemburg is a member of the European University Association (EUA); the EUA Council for Doctoral Education (EUA-CDE); The European University Foundation - Campus Europae (EUF-CE); Université de la Grande-Région.