2nd call of the European Universities initiative: 11 UNICA members selected for the 24 new alliances

The European Commission has announced the results of the second call under the Erasmus+ programme for European Universities.

European Universities are “a key building block for the European Education Area” - stated today Mariya Gabriel, European Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth - who also stressed how "The COVID-19 pandemic has shown that deeper cooperation across borders, disciplines and cultures is the only way to recover from the crisis and to build resilience”. 

The 24 new European Universities alliances involve 165 higher education institutions from 26 EU Member States and other countries participating in the Erasmus+ programme. 

The 24 newly-selected alliances will join the first 17 European Universities announced in 2019 to work towards the European Education Area by enhancing the quality, inclusiveness, digitalisation and attractiveness of European higher education with financial support from the Erasmus+ and Horizon 2020 programmes. 



Congratulations to the 11 UNICA members on being selected for the 24 new European Universities: 

  • University of Iceland
  • King’s College London 
  • University of Belgrade 
  • Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
  • University of Oslo
  • Comenius University Bratislava
  • Semmelweis University
  • TalTech
  • Sofia University St. Kliment Ohridski
  • University of Zagreb
  • University of Luxembourg


In total, 36 out of the 53 UNICA member Universities are now involved in the European Universities initiative and are part of 18 alliances.