Three UNICA Member Universities and Heidelberg University establish European university alliance 4EU

A press release issued on 21 March 2018 announces the establishment of a strategic European partnership by Charles University (Czech Republic), Heidelberg University (Germany), Sorbonne University (France) and the University of Warsaw (Poland).


Building on existing academic collaborations, the European University Alliance (4EU) aims to advance cooperation in research, education and administration and to establish the appropriate infrastructure which will bring together researchers, students and staff from the four institutions. The cooperation is based on a common understanding of the idea of a European university, founded on values of academic freedom and autonomy, and ensuring fair access to education.


The Presidents of the four universities signed a declaration establishing the alliance in Paris on Saturday, 10 March, 2018. 


Read the press release


Press contacts from the four Universities:

Charles University
Vaclav Hajek
+420 224 491 248
Sorbonne University
Katherine Tyrka
+33 (0)1 44 27 51 05    
University of Warsaw
Anna Korzekwa-Józefowicz     
+48 602 262 552
Universität Heidelberg
Marietta Fuhrmann-Koch      
+49 6221 54 19012